E-Mail to ECan Councillors

From: David Haynes [mailto:secretary@nzffa.com]
Sent: Friday, 30 July 2021 10:22 a.m.
To: ‘Councillor.Hughey@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Scott@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.McKay@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Edge@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Ian.Mackenzie@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Sunckell@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Apanui@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Clearwater@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Southworth@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Hands@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Pauling@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Marshall@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Pham@ecan.govt.nz’; ‘Councillor.Elizabeth.McKenzie@ecan.govt.nz’

Subject: Canterbury’s Ticking Time-bomb Over Water Nitrate Levels

Dear Councillors

Please find the link below to our latest press release highlighting that Canterbury nitrate pollution has extended beyond environmental pollution to potentially threatening human health.

https://nzffa.com/canterburys-ticking-time-bomb-over-water-nitrate-levels/

As all of you list the importance of freshwater in your web site resumés, I am sure the above will be of particular interest.

In my position I get to meet and listen to a lot of anglers and I get a palpable sense of anger and frustration from them and the wider public at many regional councils, including ECan, because of their perceived incapability to act either forcefully or determinedly to stop further degradation of our freshwater resource.  Councils continuing to insist freshwater pollution is wholly a legacy issue and setting pollution targets out to horizons beyond those Councillor’s life spans only further compound the perception that meaningful action is not in the interests of those Councils.

Regards

David Haynes
Secretary & Treasurer
New Zealand Federation of Freshwater Anglers
Ph: 03 546 6051
Mob: 0272 351 833
E: secretary@nzffa.com

www.nzffa.com
www.facebook.com/NZFFA

, E-Mail to ECan Councillors
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The maximum upload file size: 80 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, text, archive, code, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here